Hearts Through History Romance Writers



Hearts Through History Romance Writers is proud to announce the 16th Annual Romance through the Ages Contest! This is an awesome opportunity for feedback on your future masterpieces from writing peers. Plus, you don’t want to miss a chance for great prizes and to have your manuscript seen by industry professionals! 

Entries accepted Feb 1st – March 31st, 2018


1st place winners in each category + Legends award: $50

1st, 2nd, and 3rd place winners in each category: printed certificate and social media badge (worth $50)

All winners will be announced in the Romance Writers Report.

$20 for HHRW members / $25 for non-members. Both entry form, manuscript file, and payment must be received by midnight March 31, 2018.

Unpublished authors may enter any category.

Published authors may enter any category in which they’re not published, or in which they’ve not been contracted for publication within the past five years. Self-published work will be considered contracted for the purposes of this contest.

Open to RWA and non-RWA members. HHRW membership is not required.

Entries that have previously won 1st place in any RTTA category or that have won the Legends Award are not eligible. All other previous finalist entries are eligible.

All entries must be the author’s original work.

Any work of historical romance that has not been contracted for publication by March 31, 2018, may be entered.

Deadline is at midnight CDT on March 31, 2018. Finalists will be announced on or about May 31, 2018. Winners will be announced during the Hearts Through History annual meeting at the RWA national conference in Denver, CO, on July 18, 2018.

The 2018 Romance Through The Ages contest offers the following categories:

Setting: worldwide, Time period: prehistory through the 17th century

Ancient/Medieval/Renaissance – Celtic
Setting: British Isles, Time period: prehistory through the 17th century

Setting: England and its colonies/territories, Time period: late 18th through 19th centuries

Colonial/Western/Civil War
Setting: United States, Time period: 17th through 19th centuries

Post-Victorian/World War II
Setting: worldwide, Time period:1901 through 1945

Modern History 1950s – 1980s
Setting: worldwide, Time period:1950s through 1980s

Time Travel/Historical Paranormal
Setting: worldwide, Time period: prehistory through 1945, Note: more than 50% of the entry must take place in the historical period

Legend Award: A Man for All Reasons
All entries are automatically entered in this special cross-category award. The Legend Award celebrates the most memorable hero out of all entries.

To date, 2018 Romance through the Ages Final Judges are:

Ancient/Medieval/Renaissance: Kathryn LeVeque, Dragonblade Publishing

Ancient/Medieval/Renaissance – Celtic: Erin Molta, Entangled Publishing

Georgian/Regency/Victorian: Elle Keck, Avon Books/HarperCollins

Colonial/Western/Civil War: Laura Bradford, Bradford Literary Agency

Post Victorian/World War II: Jill Marsal, Marsal Lyon Literary Agency

Time Travel/Historical Paranormal: Danielle Egan-Miller, Brown, and Miller Literary Associates

Modern History:

Legend Award: A Man for All Reasons: Jennie Conway, St. Martin’s Press

If you have any questions, please e-mail RTTA@heartsthroughhistory.com and contact the contest chair.

For more info and to enter starting Feb 1st, visit https://www.heartsthroughhistory.com/rtta-contest/